Yao Ming, Sheryl Swoopes in basketball Hall of Fame

Former Rockets center Yao Ming and ex-Comets and Texas Tech star Sheryl Swoopes were elected to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Monday.

Also in this year’s class are Allen Iverson, Shaquille O’Neal, Tom Izzo and Jerry Reinsdorf.

The induction ceremony will be Sept. 9 in Springfield, Mass.

Yao played nine seasons with the Rockets and helped spread the NBA’s popularity to China.

Swoopes, who won a national title at Texas Tech, led the Comets to four WNBA titles and also won an Olympic gold medal.

Longtime NBA referee Darell Garretson, coach John McLendon and former stars Zelmo Beaty and Cumberland Posey will be enshrined posthumously.


To Top